Which of the following are characteristics of the temperate deciduous forest?

Which of the following are characteristics of the temperate deciduous forest?

Key Characteristics of Temperate Deciduous "Broadleaf" Forest

  • Deciduous forests have a long, warm growing season as one of four distinct seasons.
  • There is abundant moisture.
  • The soil typically is rich. ...
  • Tree leaves are arranged in strata: canopy, understory, shrub, and ground.

What do temperate forests have?

Temperate forests are characterized as regions with high levels of precipitation, humidity, and a variety of deciduous trees. Deciduous trees are trees that lose their leaves in winter. Decreasing temperatures and shortened daylight hours in fall mean decreased photosynthesis for plants.

What are the 4 layers of the deciduous forest?

A deciduous forest is made up of five different layers. The layers are called canopy, understory, shrub, herb, and floor. Each layer has different plants and animals living in it.

Do wolves live in a cave?

Wolves live in caves, cavities and between rocks. ... Wolves are social animals and have a specific hierarchy within their packs. The dominant male and female pair, called the alpha wolves, rule the pack.

Why do wolves live in the forest?

Some species of wolves only live in the United States in forests and other areas where animals are plentiful for them to consume due to their dietary needs. Others live in the cold regions of the Arctic where there is hardly any other animals surviving there due to the bitter cold.

What is a wolf's predator?

Wolves are called apex predators, which means that they are at the top of the food chain. ... Other competing predators would be cougar, coyote, bear and humans. A predator's life is not an easy one. Almost every time they are hungry, wolves must find and bring down prey.