What is the taiga region mainly characterized by?

What is the taiga region mainly characterized by?

Taiga, also called boreal forest, biome (major life zone) of vegetation composed primarily of cone-bearing needle-leaved or scale-leaved evergreen trees, found in northern circumpolar forested regions characterized by long winters and moderate to high annual precipitation.

Where is the taiga boreal forest located?

The taiga or boreal forest has been called the world's largest land biome. In North America, it covers most of inland Canada, Alaska, and parts of the northern contiguous United States.

Why are boreal forests important?

Canada's boreal forest, and more broadly the boreal zone, is crucial to the national economy because of the available timber and non-timber products, mineral and energy resources, and hydroelectric potential of regional rivers. The boreal forest provides food and renewable raw materials to Canadians.

How do humans use the boreal forest?

Major industrial developments in the boreal forest include logging, mining, hydroelectric development, and oil and gas projects. These activities are important to the Canadian economy, but can also have severe impacts on the boreal forest (Lakehead University 2007).

How much oxygen does the boreal forest produce?

Like Earth's other grand forests, the boreal plays a critical role in how the planet breathes through the process of photosynthesis. By extension, it also shapes the composition of the atmosphere, which today includes concentrations of oxygen, at about 21 per cent, and carbon dioxide, at roughly 0.

What berries are in the taiga?

You can find an assortment of raspberries, bunchberries, cloudberries, and cranberries all in the taiga. Berries like lingonberries and bilberries can even grow in the north taiga.

What eats moose in the taiga?


What animals eat moose in the taiga?

The gray wolf is the largest member of the canid family to live in the taiga. They are fierce predators that can hunt and kill very large mammals including moose, elk and caribou. The gray wolf has many adaptations.