What are the categories of forest?

What are the categories of forest?

There are broadly three major types of forests – tropical, temperate, and boreal forests. They are classified according to latitude. Also, these major types are divided farther into more specific categories.

What's the difference between Woods and Forest?

A forest, according to Webster's New World Dictionary, is "a thick growth of trees and underbrush covering an extensive tract of land." A wood, on the other hand, is defined as "a thick grove of trees" in the same dictionary. ... According to that agency, a forest must be at least 1.

Is Foresty a word?

noun. the science of planting and taking care of trees and forests. the process of establishing and managing forests; forestation.

What is the another name of coniferous forest?

The northern Eurasian coniferous forest is called the taiga or the boreal forest. ... Both terms are used to describe the entire circumpolar coniferous forest with its many lakes, bogs, and rivers. Coniferous forests also cover mountains in many parts of the world.

What does broadleaf forest mean?

Temperate broad-leaved forests, sometimes called temperate rainforests, are dominated by evergreen vegetation. ... These forests grow in regions where year-round rainfall is high and steady and frost is rare.

What are broadleaf trees called?

Broad-leaved trees are sometimes known as hardwoods. Most deciduous trees are broad-leaved but some are coniferous, like larches.